National: Slovak Republic

  • The Slovak Republic is a sovereign state in Central Europe. It has a population of over five million and an area of about 49,000 square kilometres (19,000 sq mi). Slovakia is bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The largest city is the capital, Bratislava, and the second largest is Košice. Slovakia is a member state of the European Union, NATO, the United Nations, the OECD and the WTO, among others. The official language is Slovak, a member of the Slavic language family.

  • Slovak Republic: Strategy

    Venture investment struggles to get started

    The Slovak Republic was created when Czechoslovakia was formally dissolved on 1 January 1993, but in terms of venture capital (VC) it appears to have been a case of time standing still from its Communist days.


Government reports & news


National Governments

Regional & Local Governments

* Full report available online