Alberta Innovates to be restructured

The provincial government plans to restructure Alberta Innovates from four organisations into one according to a leaked email from Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures CEO Stephen Lougheed.

Alberta Innovates, a Canada-based government-backed firm promoting and conducting research, is set to be restructured from four organisations into one, according to CBCNews.

The restructuring is expected to be announced formally when Rachel Notley, premier of Alberta, releases the province's budget on April 14.

The organisation is currently made up of four businesses: Technology Futures, Bio Solutions, Energy and Environment and Health Solutions.

The news has come to light thanks to an email obtained by CBCNews sent by Stephen Lougheed, chief executive of Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures.

The email also revealed the immediate departure of Caroline Conway and Don Back, both vice-presidents for Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures (AITF).

The email stated: "By now, AITF employees are aware of the impending consolidation of the four Alberta Innovates corporations. Executives and senior leaders will share as much information as they can with employees about this major organisational change without getting ahead of the Government of Alberta's plan.

"Based on discussions I have had with my counterparts and senior government officials over the past six months, it seems very likely the provincial government will announce the consolidation sometime in April."

See more from this Government Report: Canada


Copyright Mawsonia Limited 2010. Please don't cut articles from or the PDF and redistribute by email or post to the web without written permission.

Most read

  1. News round up 2 January 2018

    January 02, 2018

  2. 2017: year in review

    January 10, 2018

  3. News round up 22 January 2018

    January 22, 2018

  4. Temasek and EDBI take a slice of Pear

    January 03, 2018

  5. WM Motor revs up with new funding

    December 28, 2017